Gilles Berthoumieux

The Founder’s message
Gilles Berthoumieux

Agricultural engineer, and founder of his own company since 1996, he is specialized in essential oil. Gilles Berthoumieux travelled around the world for more than 30 years to search for new ingredients and made no compromise on quality. Passionate about botany and very attached to his region, he installed his company in the heart of « Pays de Cocagne », at Cambounet sur le Sor. It is on his family’s land that he restored the culture of Woad Dyer on a 4 hectares field. 4 years were needed to have an expert knowledge of the culture, the harvest and the process to obtain the precious pigment.

The « Château des Plantes » is a unique place, like a living museum. It is also the unique actor in its sector to highlight all the process of the dying woad ( Isatis Tinctoria): From the culture to the extract, but also with the ancient dyeing techniques, and the production of oil and cosmetics based on real woad of Pays de Cocagne!

Thus, the company decided to enhance and commercialize in complete transparency its own brand of natural cosmetics products !

THE UNIQUE PLACE

View the visits
Visite Atelier Teinture au Château des Plantes

THE WOAD

View the products range
Cosmetiques naturels au Pastel

THE CYNARA

View the products range
Cosmetiques naturels au Cynara

OUR VALUES

We think that the well-being is also the respect of the environment. It necessary to adopt a responsible attitude.
Our commitment is identified by :

  • The choice of organic production and local production as much as possible
  • The choice of recyclable material with no unnecessary packing
  • The choice of short cycle by getting supplied from the origin, by developing and producing our own products

Our work is the result of long term and harmonious relationship with our collaborators, producers of aromatic plants from around the world. This collaboration is part of a traceability and solidarity approach.
We provide :

  • A technical and scientific support to get the highest quality level
  • A long term commitment with our producers to make a success of their activity
  • For our customer, we offer a total traceability, a safe product and a fair price

Natural Products

In the heart of of preserved nature, out family company form Tarn dedicated itself with real passion to the organic production of aromatic plants and the rediscovery of ancestral and forgotten botanical species of the region such as WOAD and CYNARA.

Short Cycle

From the culture to the harvest of seeds or leaf, the fermentation to the transformation of cosmetic products or of dyeing textile, everything is created on the domain. Our woad and cynara are 100% certified form local production and independent.

Fair Trade

The fair trade is made from shorter and transparent commercial chains. It allows the producers to live decently form their work and to be an active part of their development model. We work on the fair distribution of the wealth on the whole production chain.

CSR Approach

We have the will to contribute to a better world by providing products which respect Humans and the environment. A vocation which was expressed by the approach of CSR (Corporate Social Responsibility) inside the company.

Gilles Berthoumieux

Le mot du Fondateur
Gilles Berthoumieux

Ingénieur agronome, fondateur de sa propre société en 1996, spécialiste mondial des huiles essentielles, Gilles Berthoumieux parcourt le monde depuis plus de 30 ans pour sourçer et trouver de nouveaux ingrédients sans aucun compromis sur leur qualité. Passionné de botanique et attaché à sa région, il a installé son entreprise au cœur du Pays de Cocagne, à Cambounet-sur-le-Sor. C’est sur les terres familiales qu’il a réhabilité la culture du Pastel des teinturiers, sur une parcelle de 4 hectares. Il aura fallu 4 années de travail pour maîtriser la culture, la récolte et le procédé d’obtention du précieux pigment.

Tel un musée vivant, témoignant de la culture, de l’extraction et des ateliers de teinture végétale à l’ancienne, le site de « Château des Plantes » est unique à ce jour. C’est aussi l’unique acteur de la filière à valoriser toutes les parties du pastel des teinturiers (Isatis Tinctoria) : depuis la culture à l’extraction en passant par la teinture à l’ancienne ainsi que la production d’huile et de cosmétiques au pastel véritable du Pays de Cocagne !

Ainsi, l’entreprise a pris le parti de valoriser et commercialiser en transparence totale sa propre marque de produits cosmétiques naturels !

LE SITE UNIQUE

Voir les visites
Visite Atelier Teinture au Château des Plantes

LE PASTEL

Voir la Gamme de produits
Cosmetiques naturels au Pastel

LE CYNARA

Voir la Gamme de produits
Cosmetiques naturels au Cynara

NOS VALEURS

Nous considérons que le bien-être passe aussi par le respect de notre environnement. Adopter une attitude responsable est une nécessité.
Notre engagement se traduit par :

  • Le choix de l’agriculture biologique et des productions locales chaque fois que cela est possible
  • Le choix de matériaux recyclables sans emballage superflu
  • Le choix de circuits courts, en nous approvisionnant à la source, en développant et en fabriquant nos produits sans intermédiaire

Notre travail est aussi le fruit de relations humaines durables et harmonieuses avec nos partenaires, producteurs de plantes aromatiques aux quatre coins du monde. Cette collaboration s’inscrit dans une démarche de traçabilité et de solidarité.
Nous apportons :

  • Un soutien technique et scientifique pour l’obtention du plus haut niveau de qualité
  • Un engagement à long terme avec nos producteurs permettant de pérenniser leur activité
  • Pour nos clients, nous offrons une traçabilité totale, un produit sûr et un prix juste

Produits Naturels

Au cœur d’une nature authentique et préservée, notre entreprise familiale tarnaise se consacre avec passion à la culture biologique des plantes aromatiques et à la redécouverte des espèces botaniques ancestrales et oubliées de la région comme LE PASTEL ou LE CYNARA.

Circuit Court

De la culture en passant par la récolte des graines ou feuilles, la fermentation jusqu’à sa transformation en produits cosmétiques ou en teinture pour le textile, tout est réalisé sur notre domaine. Notre pastel et cynara sont labélisés 100% production locale et autonome.

Commerce Équitable

Le commerce équitable s’appuie sur des chaînes commerciales plus courtes et transparentes, il permet aux producteurs de vivre décemment de leur travail et d’être acteurs de leur modèle de développement. Nous travaillons à la juste répartition des richesses sur toute notre chaîne de production.

Démarche RSE

Nous avons la volonté de contribuer à un monde meilleur et plus harmonieux par la mise à disposition de produits respectueux de l’Homme et de l’Environnement. Une vocation qui s’est traduite par une démarche RSE importante au sein de l’entreprise.